National Award for Innovation and Excellence in Teaching Professionalism

Final Selection Committee for the 2006 Awards

Anthony V. Alfieri. Professor of Law, Founder and Director, Center for Ethics and Public Service, University of Miami School of Law. Winner of the Florida Supreme Court 1999 Faculty Professionalism Award and the Association of American Law Schools' Clinical Section Committee on Lawyering in the Public Interest 2004-2005 Gary Bellow Scholar award.

John T. Berry. Executive Director, State Bar of Michigan. Chair, American Bar Association Standing Committee on Professionalism. Winner of the 2001 American Bar Association's Michael Franck Award for achievement in lawyer ethics, professionalism and conduct. Former Director, Center of Professionalism--University of Florida College of Law.

Berry Crowley. Executive Director, Texas Center for Legal Ethics and Professionalism. Co-ordinator, National Consortium of Professionalism Initiatives. Member, ABA House of Delegates. First female President, Texas Young Lawyers’ Association; former Chair, Texas Bar Foundation; former Director, State Bar of Texas.

Clark D. Cunningham. W. Lee Burge Professor of Law & Ethics, Georgia State University College of Law. Director, National Institute for Teaching Ethics & Professionalism; Director, Effective Lawyer-Client Communication Project. Member, Georgia Commission on Professionalism. Reporter, Chief Justice's Commission on Indigent Defense.

The Hon. Karla M. Gray. Chief Justice, Montana Supreme Court. Board of Directors, American Judicare Society. Lifetime Fellow, American Bar Foundation. Alumna of the Year (1992), Western Michigan University.

Jim O. Stuckey II, Shareholder, Littler Mendelson, P.C. Member, American Bar Association Standing Committee on Professionalism. Member, University of South Carolina Board of Visitors. Former Chief Counsel, Governor of South Carolina.

The final selection committee chooses the first place winner from among the three finalists.

Contact the Selection Committee